Like other southern county communities, the combination of the Peshtigo Fire,the Pensaukee Tornado, and increasing farming activity essentially ended the lumber industry by the 1880s.
The History of Chase
In the 1890s and early 1900s, much of the remaining cutover land was purchased by the Hof Land Company which laid out new communities and encouraged numerous European immigrants, particularly Polish settlers, to begin farms in the Chase area.
Chase was originally established on April 15, 1873 as St. Nathans. The name was changed to Chase on March 20, 1890. Chase was named for after Chase & Dixie Sawmill in operation along the Little Suamico River in 1867.
Chase is home to one of the last surviving all-fieldstone barns in the country.The Stone Barn is listed with the State and National Register of Historic Places. The citizens of Chase continue to restore and maintain this unique building as a monument to the wonderful community of Chase, Wisconsin.